Close-Up Encounters: Red Roses Tour: AJ Rafael Live in Manila

In the past January 18’s of my life, it’s either I spent the day as any ordinary day it was or hang out with my friends…or just get busy with school works.

But for this year, January 18 was life-changing. Unforgettable, even.

AJ Rafael

One of my musical inspirations, one of those underrated and passionate artists...AJ Rafael inches away from me.

AJ Rafae; promotional poster Manila

The official promo poster of the Manila concert

Prior to the Red Roses concert week, I — or should I say WE (me and my group mates) — were very busy with out TV Production project. We were given the task to make a 45-minute talk show, and it will be our entry for our school’s 2012 “Videofest” which will be held on the second week of February. And since we prepared it all last minute, we’re currently rushing it. I was very worried that there’s a huge possibility that I couldn’t attend the concert and I even considered selling my ticket — which is a front-row seat and   inclusive of the meet-and-greet.

Fortunately though, before the Manila concert day, I asked permission to two of my group mates — our Executive Producer and Director — to be excused in the set-up day and they agreed to do so. Sigh of relief. I’ve given myself a pat on the back for being brave in asking.

Fast forward to the concert day.

There are actually 2 shows last January 18. The 5pm and the 8pm show. I went to the 8pm one, since that was firstly announced by Monsoon Productions, the one who’s responsible for bringing Clara C and David Choi here in Manila as well. After the 8pm show was all sold out, Monsoon announced that there will be a second show, which is the 5pm one.

I arrived at the venue around 6:30pm and there were few concert watchers who are hanging out beneath the stairs and some where taking pictures by the big big poster hung at Music Museum. Until such time around 7pm that the people were increasing in number, going up and down the stairs, either checking if there’s a line already, asking what time to go in or simply asking for the price of the albums and merchandises sold in the concert.

The longest queue I experienced after the U-KISS mall tour that I've gone to. I was at the stairs. O_o

I actually thought that AJ Rafael’s album would sold out in seconds from the first show. Imagine my surprise when there’s A LOT of stocks left, with Noah Bartfield’s, the band’s bassist, EP CD. So the merchandises sold were (lemme apologize that I haven’t taken any pictures of the merchandises on the concert day due to the adrenaline that I felt when I was already there): The AJ Rafael Band’s “Red Roses” album, Red Roses Tour APAC Concert poster, Red Roses Tour sticker, Noah Bartfield’s “Let It Be Love” EP, Krissy and Ericka’s “12:51” album, Krissy and Ericka 4R-sized posters/pictures, and some real red red roses (in a little bouquet) from a charity.

The only ones I bought at the concert: THE ALBUMS. Those are the legit shizz!

Before the concert proper, I would like to share a little crack with y’all. From this point on—or just the italicized ones—it’s all MY thoughts, and my thoughts only. If you feel you are the one being described, well, it’s all on your mind! LELZ. There might be some spazzing and… HEH HEH. Inspired by this part of a blog post.

#ConyoProblems

OhEmGee, like, WTF I’m wearing shorts so that AJ Rafael or Noah Bartfield could make pansin to me.

Girl 1: Dude, I got the greatest seats. Where’s the scratch paper that I wrote my message to?
Girl 2: It’s somewhere here. Okay, you bought great seats, but the aircon is so lameeeg~ >_<

~~~

HOLYSPAZZMOLY. Noah Bartfield! I am a freelance photographer. I don’t mind you getting me to take pictures of your full-length album if you’re gonna release one! CHOOSE ME.

First attempt of fangirling:
Jamy: I LOVE YOU DANNY MORLEDGE~~~!
Danny Morledge: *No response.* He must’ve not heard me.
Second attempt of fangirling: *when AJ’s saying his mini-speech and audience is quiet*
Jamy: I LOVE YOU DANNY MORLEDGE~~~~~~!
*Danny’s looking for that cray-cray girl*
*Jamy waved and did the heart sign*
Danny Morledge: *raises eyebrows and smiles in approval and response*

Damn. Adrenaline rush was pumped out by my heart! Kiligness to the extremecore. FYI: Danny Morledge is the drummer. I love drummers. LAWL.

Yow AJ. Y U NO HAVE A PHOTO-OP WITH FANS?!?! WHATSWRONGWITCHU?!?! TT Monsoon Prod… WHY?!?!?!

KWISSY AND ERIKUUUH, Y U WEAR SUPER HIGH-PUMPED HEELS?! SUPERMODEL ANG PEG? OKAY LANG, BAGAY NAMAN SA INYO EH. MAGKASINGTANGKAD PA RIN TAYO. HEH HEH HEH. #JamyMasyadoKangMayabangPorketMatangkadKa 

Kiana Valenciano, can you please sing for our OBB in our school talkshow?! In return, I shall take pictures of you for your CD Jacket of your future album-to be. Wait, whutt?!

Andrew Rhim, don’t be so magalaw. You’re rocking eet with ze guitar, I know. But almost all of your pictures that I got where blurred because of you moving. Y SO MAGALAW?! #ConyoProblems

Hey Jericho Rosales, I’m Jamy and it’s my second time to see you. I saw you first at Italianni’s Eastwood. Do you know that you’re gwapo even if you’re not matangkad? #SecondWarningKaNaJamy!

RUEHLGWUHTLGRUH!! ZOMG Justine, can we take a picture?! I’m a big fan of your Superbass cover! #PWNEDOTHERFANGIRLS

HOLY KAMOTE OF WIN. Gary V. and Ms. Angeli Pangilinan-Valenciano is also watching! I am at awe since Sir Gary V. has been one of my inspirations in music. TOO BAD I DIDN’T GET A PHOTO OF US TOGETHER! 

Ms. Christina Luna of Luna Co., Y U SO MABAET AND HUMBLE!?!?! I LOVES YOU TO INFINITY AND BEYOND! Please come back soon, with your other artists! #MelissaPolinar, yes? 😀

Okay, that’s the last of it. I may add a few more in the coming days. On to the concert proper and my thought of the concert in general. I hope I made you LOLed like crazy thurr~

The concert started past 8pm, and as the house lights dim in color, the audience screamed of excitement and spasm, shouting AJ’s name and even his band mates’s names.

Krissy and Ericka, the talented sister-duo, started the concert off. They sang a total of four song. (As for the mash-ups, I kinda jumbled some of ’em because I can’t quite recall which songs are which were mashed.)

1. Superbass-California King Bed mash-up cover
2. In Your Arms
3. 12:51
4. Price Tag-We found Love mash-up cover

Krissy and Ericka

The talented duo/sisters as front acts in AJ's concert

Ericka Villongco

Sorry for the shakiness of the photo. Used the digicam. Ericka! follow her on twitter @erickaxx

Krissy Vollongco

Again, lame photo. But do follow Krissy in twitter @krissyonfire

As usual they got me with their beautiful, sweet voices in their mash-up covers, but when it came to the part of singing their originals, it just depicts of how strong and how the emotions affect a person, say, me for that matter.

The first time I hear “12:51” is at David Choi’s concert here in Manila last June 2011 and it was truly beautiful. Listening to it again is just…woah! Krissy wrote the song, and just like the other songs that she wrote, it’s amazing. These sisters are really talented.

Their third song, which is also an original, was also amazing. For a second, I thought they’re gonna sing Kina Grannis’s song since it’s the same title, but they said it beforehand that it’s an original. “In Your Arms” is another song that Krissy wrote.

To end their performance, they sang their mash-up cover of Jessie J’s “Price tag” and Rihanna’s “We Found Love”.

As the Villongco sisters end their last song, Ericka started to cheer “AJ~ AJ~ AJ~” and we continue to do so as they exit the stage, and the venue’s lights were off for the second time. The crowd was cheering and screaming all at the same time, you barely hear anything, and then…

AJ came out–AJ only–and sang his first song of the night: Heart of Worship. A Christian song.

AJ Rafael

Singing his first song in the 8pm show: Heart of Worship follow AJ on twitter: @ajRAFAEL

From there I knew that his concert would be epic and definitely an unforgettable one. As he sang the song, I sang along with him, since I really missed that song singing in church and in high school.

After singing his intro song, he exited for a brief moment and a video played in the big screen in front of us, with AJ and his band, and Krissy and Ericka on their adventures in the APAC tour and their Philippine vacay. And then they all of them—AJ Rafael, Noah Bartfield, Andrew Rhim and Danny Morledge entered the stage again, and the rest as they say, is HIStory!

Well…not actually. Here’s the AJ Rafael band’s setlist for the second Manila show: (In random order, except for the first 6 songs, the last and encore perf)

Heart of Worship
Here, Tonight
Starlit Nights
(500) Days
Emma Watson
Disney Medley (Go to Distance-Be A Man-Part of Your World)
Red Roses
Let it Be Love (Noah Bartfield’s EP single)
We Could Happen
Without You feat. Kiana Valenciano
Bakit Ngayon Ka Lang feat. Kiana Valenciano
Here All Alone, Part 3
Sparks fly cover feat. Krisssy and Ericka
Just Friends cover feat. Randolph Permejo
She Was Mine feat. Randolph Permejo
When We Say (Juicebox)

Encore performance:
My Soldier
Showstopper
I Just Want You

I just want to summarize the whole show in 2 words: Insanely epic.

And unforgettable. This really is the highlight of my 2012. Of all the events and concerts that I attended, attending and will attend, this definitely is the icing on the cake for me this year. Imagine you’re in a room filled with talented people, boasting Pinoy pride at its best, singing ALL the songs that surpasses mainstream music, just enjoying the show, enjoying the music that were sang with passion.

And may I say that Noah Bartfield’s voice is very very nice? It’s kinda similar to David Choi’s too. I hope and pray that when he releases his full-length album, he would also hold a concert here. Yow Noah, are you reading this?! Heh heh.

Justine, AJ’s little sister, is also very sweet. She’s really grown up already. She’s dalaga already! She and Jasmine, AJ’s sister next to him , really looks like their mom. Too bad Jasmine came back to the US on the show itself. I wanted to meet her too.

In the audience were Mr. Pure Energy himself, Sir Gary V., his wife Mrs. Angeli Pangilinan-Valenciano, their son Gab, actor Jericho Rosales and he’s with a girl (Hmmmmm… showbiz?! NEW LABLAYP?! LOL), Randolph’s parents and us, his supporters-slash-fans.

Backstage were Krissy and Ericka’s friends and also actors, Sam Concepcion, Patrick Sugui and James Reid watching, and maybe chatting with the people there.

Oh yeah, before the concert, I already got in touch with AJ Rafael-PH, the soon-to-be official fan club of the AJ Rafael band. I’m really proud of Cams and the team behind the fandom, as well as the other AJ Rafael fan clubs based in Southeast Asia. If you want to participate on the latest project, click here. Much love the Cams Catalan and the other Pinoy showstoppers that I’ve met in the concert, and to the others who I haven’t seen and met yet, let’s chill soon yes?

Picture spam after the jump!

One of my fave photos.

Danny Morledge

The drummer of AJ Rafael band aka Danny Morledge aka DanTheMan, my drummer boii~

Noah Bartfield

Noah Bartfield on bass. Didn't expect that he's more gwapo in person, and there are a lot of fans of him too.

Andrew Rhim

One of my few, decent shots of Andrew Rhim, the band's guitarist. Oh yeah, he's korean. One of the greatest guitar players, too.

Randolph Permejo

Randolph Permejo, who also started his music in youtube and a close friend of AJ's also sang. He currently lives here in the Philippines studying.

Ericka with the band

Krissy & Ericka joined the band in singing the Sparks Fly cover.

I see Sparks Fly

One of my most fave shots. @_@ So surreal.

AJ and Randolph

Them singing "She Was Mine"

AJ Rafael and Kiana Valenciano

Gary V's daughter, Kiana, also joined AJ on stage. They sang his original "Without You" and a cover of "Bakit Ngayon Ka Lang?"

Kiana Valenciano

Her voice is uhhh~mazing! I love her already!

In the almost-end part of the concert, the watchers–out of nowhere–started to go up the stage, taking pictures and recording videos of AJ and the band. Especially them rabid fan girls of Noah Bartfield, in which they were crowding the bassist and merely screaming their lungs out. As much as I want to be as reserved as I can, the fangirl inside me got the best of me. I did what almost all the people did, too: take pictures of the performers and taking some 30-second vlog for proof that I went to the most epic concert of 2012.

Oooh yeah, forgot to add. Before his encore performance and the band’s first exit, AJ really got emotional on his “Here All Alone, Part 3” performance, and then just threw his specs on the floor and just continued singing. Then he got emotional again on the near end of the whole show. I can’t even tell how speechless I am that, he made us proud and not just his family and his dad who passed away for more than 10 years already.

After their second exit–after singing their encore–AJ Rafael got a standing ovation from his audience. True story. Gave me goosebumps all the way.

PicSpam Batch 2: The People I Met Up-Close

Jamy x Danny Morledge

Jamy x Dany Morledge. Did I mention that he smelled so good, despite what with all the sweat and rockin' that he pulled through the whole show? 😛

Jamy x Andrew Rhim

Jamy x Andrew Rhim. He's super duper nice!

Jamy x Randolph Permejo

Jamy x Randolph Permejo. This dude is really sweet. The sweetest & nicest guy ever. When I saw him on stage, he gave me a big bear, warm hug and took this pic. 🙂

Jamy x Christina Luna

Met and talked to Christina Luna of Luna Co., AJ Rafael and the band's manager. She's super duper nice and encouraging. She knows a bit of Tagalog, too! I love her to bits!

Jamy x Krissy and Ericka

These talented sisters. I really loved them. They're not just beautiful, but their music too. Got them hearts! 🙂

The awkward heart and that annoying super smile of mine. O_O it's creepy~

And yes, shared a heart from AJ's lil' sis, Justine! She's really grown up now. 🙂

Met AJR-PH's owner Camz Catalan and Allyna! 🙂 Pinoy showstoppers ftw!

The gifts I gave:

This is too common of a gift, esp. from me. LOL. Four shirts for the band. Props to SM Dept. Store.

Dried mangoes have been expensive (for my case) lately, and since Chocnut is cheaper and Pinoy-worthy of a gift, I decided to buy it.

Manila canvass tote bag for all the gifts!

The presents inside the tote bag. 🙂

And the tiny yet very well-messaged card for the band. I hope they liked it.

And this here is the end of my close-up encounters with one of my musical loves, AJ Rafael. If you’ve read it all the way here, kudos to you! Thank you and I really appreciate the time you’ve given to this interesting, witty post that I’ve written. Much love and respect to yah, dear reader of mine!

P.S: I’ll be updating this entry from time to time to put the videos that I’ve taken from the concert, after uploading it on my youtube account.
P.P.S: This entry has long been overdue, since the concert ended 2 months ago and I’ve been too busy what with all the school work at hand, and given the limited internet usage…so I deeply apologize for posting it at a very late date.

I do hope you guys enjoy this one. I think it’s for keeps.
xoxo. The Photography Girl ♥

About Jamy Boniol

is an amateur photographer who dreams to be a professional someday. Photography is her passion. She is currently taking up AB Mass Communications in Centro Escolar University. Art, music and God is her life. a hopeless romantic. a daydreamer.
This entry was posted in Close-Up Encounters, Concerts & Artists, fanaccounts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Close-Up Encounters: Red Roses Tour: AJ Rafael Live in Manila

  1. beck says:

    wow!swerte naman jamy

  2. Happened to stumble upon this just now… thank you for your support, kind words and great blog!

Leave a comment